STANSW Council



2020-2021 STANSW Council Elections

Nominations for the 2020-2021 STANSW Council are now being considered.  If you would like to nominate to become a member of STANSW Council,  please read below and apply within - see STANSW Council Elections 2019*


The 2019-2020 STANSW Executive Council is:

President: Margaret Shepherd - Sydney Catholic Schools (SCS) Southern Region

Vice President: Deborah de Ridder - Association of Independent Schools NSW (AISNSW)

Treasurer: Julie Rogers - Lucas Heights Community School (DoE NSW)

Councillors 2019-2020:

Susan Filan - Abbotsleigh

Kylie Hurd - Macquarie University

Tanya Riach - Condobolin High School

Oriano Miano - St Luke's Catholic College

Ashley Mulcahy - Glenmore Park High School 


The Science Teachers Association Inc (STANSW) is an Incorporated Association which represents Science Educators from all levels of education across all Government, Independent and Catholic School sectors throughout the state of NSW. STANSW is part of an Association of Science Teaching Associations throughout Australia (ASTA).

The vision of STANSW outlined on the Strategic Plan 2016-2018 is to be a dynamic and professional community of Science Educators.

STANSW’s purpose is to achieve excellence in science learning and teaching, support professional standards and provide effective leadership for the profession of science educators.

STANSW is governed by a Council and Constitution and under the STANSW constitution the Council consists of 9 members.

What’s in it for you as a STANSW Council member?

•    The opportunity to have a serious professional voice on matters involving science education and teacher professional development for the future directions of STANSW and all members of STANSW;

•    The opportunity to represent STANSW and the membership at events and activities which can include government, university and National Science Education bodies and industry;

•    The opportunity to be part of a cooperative team in decision making processes where you are representing the best interests of members;

•    You will gain skills in professional governance which you can apply in many areas of professional life both now and in the future;

•    Active participation in your professional association will enable you to gain evidence for various levels of accreditation through NESA but will fulfill the requirement for all 7.4 standards.

STANSW Council is the governing body of STANSW

It is responsible for:

  1. Overseeing the legal and financial obligations of Association
  2. Providing leadership to the Association
  3. Providing consultation to affiliated and interested bodies about Science education in NSW

Role description of councillors can be found in the STANSW Constitution via the following link here Councillors are elected for a two year period. Four (4) Councillors will be elected each calendar year.  At the first Council meeting each year Council will elect an executive consisting of:

  • President
  • Vice President
  • Treasurer

A ninth councillor may be appointed by Council.  Council meets at least 5 Saturdays a year, with other ongoing responsibilities.

Any correspondence for our volunteer Councillors can be directed to the STANSW Office


STANSW Council Elections 2019*

Nominations are being called for the election of (4) four STANSW councillors for a 2 year term from January 1st 2020 – December 31st 2020.

The Constitution requires the councillors who have finished their 2 year term to stand-down at the end of 2019.  Each of these serving councillors is eligible to re-nominate. Individual members are also eligible to nominate for a position on council.


Vacating councillors are: Tanya Riach (Councillor),  Kylie Hurd (Councillor),  Julie Rogers (Treasurer) and Deb de Ridder (Vice President). For 2020 there are four (4) Council positions to be filled. 
Please submit your nomination by completing the online form. Applications close on the 16th of October 2019. 

Complete Council application form here
The timeline for nomination and/or election is:
11th August 2019 : Nominations Open
16th October 2019 : Nominations Close
15th November 2019 : Electronic voting issued if more than four nominations received



STANSW Working Parties and Committees


The STANSW Council is aiming for a balanced membership that embraces diversity and includes a range of skills. To this end, the board would particularly encourage applications from:

-  Regional representatives
-  Those teaching in Primary Schools
-  Early career teachers with less than 5 years’ experience and students currently enrolled in Science Education courses
-  Male applicants are particularly encouraged to apply

Note : applications for STANSW project committees are welcome from all individual members of STANSW 

The time commitment will include 6 meetings per year, held at the STANSW office, Auburn and via online. The duration of meetings depends on business to be discussed.

Please submit your expression of interest by stating your areas of interest and expertise and how you believe you can contribute to the Association - via the following online form


Contact person if you wish to discuss the role: Margaret Shepherd, President (2017-2019) STANSW

Print this page