Rosemary Hafner Memorial Scholarship


We are now taking applications for 2020


Applications are now open for the 2020 event calendar and will close on February 28 2020

The Rosemary Hafner Memorial Scholarship Fund was formed in 2008 in memory of the significant contribution made by Rosemary Hafner to science education; to support and assist both metro and regional science teachers in NSW with their professional development.


Please complete the scholarship application via the online form CLICK HERE


We are also asking for donations to support the ongoing scholarship fund. To make a donation CLICK HERE


Rosemary Hafner was one of NSW and Australia’s leading science educators in the late 20th and early 21st centuries. Her influence on Science Education ranged from Kindergarten through to the Higher School Certificate in NSW schools and she spread the message about the need to engage students more effectively in Science across Australia and internationally.

Whilst Rosemary’s work ranged beyond science education into the requirements and processes for registration and accreditation of non-government schools, she never lost her focus on the needs of schools, teachers and students, and the need to avoid unnecessary complexity for school management so teaching and learning remained the emphasis in every school.

Rosemary believed in teachers and believed that they needed strong and effective support including professional development. Rosemary was a councillor, then Executive Member of the Science Teachers Association of New South Wales (STANSW) and served with distinction as a Councillor on the Australian Science Teachers Association (ASTA) Council from 2004 – 2007.

Rosemary was a regular presenter at both NSW and Australian science teachers’ conferences. From her first year as Inspector-Science, Rosemary provided presentations that were well known for being stimulating, insightful and sometimes challenging. Her contributions were always made with a passion for science teaching and learning and with a positive outlook to the future.

The scholarships

Each calendar year, provided funds are available, STANSW will provide the following scholarships for K-12 teachers of science:

1. The Rosemary Hafner Memorial Regional Scholarship for ONE teacher from regional NSW (Regional – outside the area bounded by the coast of NSW, Kiama, Moss Vale, Mount Victoria, Cessnock and Newcastle).

This scholarship shall provide: complimentary registration to any STANSW event or project

• Travel costs
• Accommodation costs
• Teacher relief

To the value of no more than $1400

2.The Rosemary Hafner Memorial Metropolitan Scholarship. This scholarship shall be awarded to ONE teacher from the Greater Metropolitan Area (Greater Metropolitan Area – inside the area bounded by the coast of NSW, Kiama, Moss Vale, Mount Victoria, Cessnock and Newcastle).

This scholarship shall provide: complimentary registration to any STANSW event or project

• Teacher relief
• Travel costs

To the value of no more than $600


1.  Open to all teachers of science, both primary and secondary, in any New South Wales school. Where equal merit exists, preference will be given to applicants who are full individual members of the Science Teachers’ Association of NSW.

2.  Each applicant shall provide a brief statement of no more than 500 words in support of his/her application for one of the Rosemary Hafner Memorial Scholarships. This statement will:

• identify the professional development event that you are seeking support to attend;
• identify the aspect of your current practice that you want to improve;
• explain how you think attending this event will improve your practice;
• explain how you will share your learning, apart from providing the report mentioned below.

3.  A professional colleague shall provide a supporting statement, of no more than 100 words, supporting your application.

4.  Successful applicants must provide a report (up to 1000 words maximum) to a STANSW publication within 1 month of the completion of the professional development opportunity. This report will describe how you plan to use / have used the learning to improve practice; the impact on practice and students to date; and how you will share what you have learned with colleagues.

5. Applications will open 6mths ahead of the forthcoming calendar year so that early PD options can be considered within the range of scholarship opportunities.

Successful applicants

All applications will be read and assessed by a panel of 4 assessors determined by STANSW council. At least one panelist will be a member of STANSW Council and a member of STANSW Council will chair the team of assessors. The successful applicants will be those assessed by the panel to best meet the above criteria. The panel’s decision will be final and no appeal will be considered.


The Rosemary Hafner Memorial Scholarships shall be set up as a separate activity of STANSW, who manage and allocate scholarships on an annual basis.

The finances of the Rosemary Hafner Memorial Scholarships shall be audited on an annual basis as part of the STANSW audit but shall remain separated in a dedicated high interest account linked to the STANSW main account.

As with all financial transactions for STANSW, two signatories (from President, Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer) will be required to authorise the movement of funds for the purposes of awarding the Rosemary Hafner Memorial Scholarships.


Make a donation download here

Print this page