STANSW Announces Winners of the 2023 Young Scientist Program

The Science Teachers Association of New South Wales (STANSW) and the Young Scientist Committee express their heartfelt gratitude to all supporters and participants of the 2023 STANSW Young Scientist Program. Special thanks are extended to our generous sponsors, dedicated volunteers, astute judges, and our venue partner for the awards ceremony, the University of Technology Sydney (UTS).

At our awards ceremony last night we handed out over 100 prizes to students from right across NSW. Students, families, and special guests enjoyed the keynote address from mathematician Associate Professor Mary Coupland from UTS.

A special congratulations to the following winners of our Grand Awards.

2023 Young Scientist of the Year

1st place
Aarohi Deshmukh
The Hive Project

2nd Place
Danika Chan
Benchmarking of Computational Chemistry Models for Radiative Efficiency Calculations of Small Atmospheric Molecules

3rd Place
Kohaku Nakagawa-Lagisz
Tea Time - How different tea types characteristics affect their rate of decomposition in the water?

2023 Primary Young Scientist of the Year (Years 3-6)
Amy Dou
Egg-ceptional Adaptations

2023 Budding Young Scientist (Years K-2)
Elizabeth Ong-Ly
From Bin to Skin

2023 Rural Young Scientist of the Year:
1st Place
Nicalie McPherson
Trailer Light Tester

Highly Commended
Phoebe Gordon
The Impact of Environmental pH on the Regeneration and Mortality of an Undescribed Planarian Species Endemic to Mt Canobolas Planarians

Cameron Grigg
Circulation Sandals

Isabella Menzies
The Effectiveness Of 0.5uM Doxorubicin With 10% Fetal Bovine Serum On Fibrosarcoma Cells

2023 Rural Primary Young Scientist of the Year:
Benjamin Oates
Take the Pressure Down!!!

Rowe Scientific Science Communication Award
1st Place
Elisabeth Fuller
Investigating the reproducibility of ball performance in various different tennis ball brands as a result of ball wear

Highly Commended
Lilian Preston
Baldilocks And The Three Hairs - The Curse Of The Hard Hat And The Lady Tradie


2023 YSA Presentation Ceremony Booklet