Young Scientist Awards


The STANSW Young Scientist Awards is a major project of STANSW and aims to encourage and support the teaching and development of investigative skills in Science.

It is NSW’s largest STEM competition and offers students from Kindergarten to Year 12 over 150 prizes for Science, Maths and Technology projects. It also provides teachers with invaluable resources and professional learning opportunities.

Since 2015, the Young Scientist Awards have collaborated with MANSW (Mathematics Association of NSW) and IIATE (Institute of Industrial Arts Technology Education) making it a truly STEM competition.

The Young Scientist categories and judging rubrics are curriculum based and link directly to NSW curriculum outcomes.

In 2018 we are introducing new stage-based categories K-2, 3-4, 5-6, 7-8, 9-10 and 11-12. The Year 11-12 category will specifically target Depth Studies required by the new curriculum for all senior science subjects.

All winning entries of the Young Scientist Awards are forwarded to the BHP Billiton Science Awards, giving prize winners the chance to compete nationally.

Thanks to our generous sponsors, our top winning students have also been able to attend the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair (ISEF) held annually in the U.S. Our students have enjoyed success on this international stage as well.  In 2018, STANSW Young Scientist sent a team of 10 students to ISEF in Pittsburgh including 3 rural students accompanied by a teacher chaperone as part of our new Rural Young Scientist initiative. YS delegates won a total of 8 awards including the top prize at ISEF – the Gordon E.Moore award won by Oliver Nicholls.  

The YSA offers teachers outstanding professional development and learning opportunities. Teachers can earn NESA accredited professional development hours by participating in the judging process, and our website contains invaluable resources for the teaching of investigative skills in science including judging rubrics and past winning projects and a dedicated YouTube channel featuring the winners of the Models and Innovations category.


Please visit the YS website for more details and please contact us with any queries at

Print this page